Sunny St. Lucia

25 Feb

The blogging days and house projects were numbered in February as we ran away to St. Lucia for a warm getaway for a week.

We stayed at the Sea Pearl villa, which I’d highly recommend! It was a beautiful 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom private home with a wonderful pool, patio, housekeeper/chef, and the best view on the island (as evidenced by the photo above).

I’d never thought I’d do anything other than an all-inclusive resort in my life, but my friends who went with us convinced us to give it a try. Thanks to the pool, the cook/housekeeper, a car rental, and a beach within walking distance it was a perfect, low-key hangout for us and our friends Once we survived the trip from the airport to the villa that is… Thanks to Jesse for being the designated chauffeur!

Our first full day there included a trip to the market in Castries (the capitol).

Catherine, Mike, and I had fun watching Jesse learn what all the fruits were. It was quite funny when he’d ask, “What’s this?” Only to have the locals respond with, “Orange.” Although to his credit, their oranges were actually green, so it was an unexpected answer! We also learned about a local fruit called sour sop and one of the vendors let us try one before we bought it- Yum!

Here’s the fruits of Jesse’s labor that day (literally, haha):

We were then directed to what we affectionately termed, “The Alley” for a good local lunch.


The FIRST (of many) Piton (local beer)

Catherine anxiously awaiting lunch!

About to dig in!

Jesse and our alley chef

We spent the rest of the day getting acquainted with the house and the beach nearby. It was associated with the resort next door and because of this there was a nice little bar at the beach. If you know me, you know that I can only drink so many beers before I need a fruity, girly drink. I learned this was not the place to do it- one pina colada cost 31 EC (Eastern Caribbean dollars) which is close to $15! Yikes, after going through 2 of them and realizing we didn’t have enough cash to pay for them, I realized I was done with those! Haha. Thanks to the local who spotted us 5 EC! I wish I would’ve gotten a picture of the most expensive drink I’ve ever had… however, I don’t think I’ll ever forget it!

The next morning (Monday) we woke up early to hike the pitons! The drive from our villa in Cap Estate to Soufriere took a few hours on some really windy, narrow roads. We were quite thankful we booked this trip with a driver. Without them we may not have made it there in one piece and we would’ve missed out on some delicious buttery bread from Canaries on the way.Wish I had a picture of this stop, but we were all so busy stuffing our faces!

There are two pitons: Gros Piton and Petit Piton. Gros piton is taller but is less steep and requires a guide to hike. Petit piton is smaller but steeper and is a “hike at your own risk” thing. We, of course, hiked gros piton. All 2,619 feet of it!

Fresh faced before the hike

A view of Petit Piton from the half-way point

Almost to the top!

Here are a few pics from the top:

Jesse reflecting on his easy trek up - the only one who was able to keep up with our guide!

2 hours later we were making the journey back down the mountain. After 4 hours of hiking, we were exhausted, sweaty and hungry!

Still able to smile at the end!

A view of Gros Piton from the bottom

Getting ready to eat at a restaurant after hiking the Pitons (seen in the background)

This day ended with me falling asleep at 7pm! I have no idea what the rest of the crew did either!

Given the amount of pictures in this post, I think it’s best to take a break from the vacation recap so it doesn’t take forever to load. I’ll pick up with the rest of the vacation later this weekend!

Mike and I are spending the rest of the morning discussing global house plans before we tackle anymore projects- then we’ll be measuring and ordering the rest of our trim within the next week or so. Still looking forward to crossing that off our list!

Enjoy your Saturday!

Leave a Reply

