Oh Christmas Tree

14 Dec

There’s something about coming home from work at the end of a long day, putting on some christmas tunes, and flipping the switch to turn on the christmas lights that really puts a smile on my face!

Last weekend I finally decked the halls with all the trimmings. I thought I’d share some photos of our decorations this year (mostly so I remember for next year!).

This is the first year we made the transition to LED lights and it has definitely taken some getting used to! The lights are quite bright and leave some interesting shapes glowing on our ceilings and wall. But, I’m hoping that I’ll be able to leave the lights on our tree when we put the tree away (our tree branches just fold up – a small top section comes off – and the tree stand is on wheels so we just wheel it out to our garage!).

 

Blog Xmas 2015-9850

Living room lights on

 

Blog Xmas 2015-9869

Living room lights off

I am not usually a fan of these windows (I wish we had bigger windows to let in more light) but they are the perfect spot to hang our stockings! I love these cable knit stockings too (from Target), but I wish they had another color since I’m hoping we’ll need to add a 4th by next Christmas 😉

Blog Xmas 2015-9823
We recently hung this picture ledge above our couch and are slowly adding some art and other things that make us smile! Right now it’s housing some of our nutcracker collection. Since this photo was taken we got another piece of art at Hobby Lobby that we squeezed in between the two photos. Once the holidays are over the “love” will go away along with the nutcrackers… What else will make an appearance on the ledge is anyone’s guess!

Blog Xmas 2015-9835

This is the first year we’ve had to decorate our built-ins for the holidays. It was fun to re-arrange things to find space for the Christmas decorations. I definitely plan to reference these photos when I go to decorate next year!

Blog Xmas 2015-9842

Blog Xmas 2015-9844

Blog Xmas 2015-9845

Blog Xmas 2015-9846

Blog Xmas 2015-9848

Here are few other nooks and crannies I added some Christmas cheer!

Blog Xmas 2015-9856

Some cute penguins on our living room bookcase

Blog Xmas 2015-9861

Our front entryway

Blog Xmas 2015-9872

Our kitchen

And so ends the tour of our Christmas decorations! I hope you enjoyed the sneak peak into our home this holiday season.

I plan to be back later this week with our 2016 house goals. Hope you have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

