What’s On the Menu?

17 Mar

You now all know how much I love meal-planning (and thanks to those of you who shared your own tips on the subject matter!).

As promised, I’m back with a quick post about our new menu board! We’ve been using it for a few weeks now and I’m loving it!

It was actually pretty simple to make – however we did have a Pinterest fail first!

While shopping at Michaels, we came across this framed metal wall hanging that looked perfect for the job.

We thought it’d be a great time saver – I’d just have to paint  or stain the trim and attach the days of the week stickers and I’d be good to go. Wrong! Unfortunately the dry erase markers didn’t erase off the metal very well. Womp womp. I’m glad I tested that out first before spending any more time on it!

So the following weekend we took a trip to Home Depot and picked up a sheet of galvanized metal and countertop trim. We also ended up buying right angle clamps to make this job a bit easier.

Once Mike cut the boards to size, I stained the trim and then we just glued them together. We glued the metal to the frames, too. No nailing involved! The”MENU” lettering is actually made of individual letter magnets that I picked up at Michael’s in that same trip mentioned above. The days of the week letters are stickers also from Michael’s. We then attached it to the door using command strips. So pretty simple!

IMG_9911

Oh and what about the framed metal wall hanging that didn’t end up working out? I plan to paint the metal part with chalkboard paint and using it to ‘decorate’ with different quotes, phrases, etc. Hopefully it works a little better this way!

2 Responses to “What’s On the Menu?”

  1. My Perfect Breakdown March 17, 2016 at 3:14 pm #

    I love it!! I am going to send the link to this to my husband so he can get to work! haha!

    • Jess March 17, 2016 at 6:55 pm #

      Thanks!!! I love it too! And it was super easy to make!

Leave a Reply

