A Work in Progress

10 Apr

There is a small bedroom next to the master that has always been known as “the nursery” or the “kids room.” We’ve had zero reason to go in there the last 6 years of home ownership outside of a few projects that needed to be tackled. You can catch a glimpse of it’s in-between states here, here, and here.

In the last year, we’ve been opening that door a lot more often as we try to get the nursery organized. One of the hard parts with adoption is you have no idea when you’ll get that call or how much time you’ll have to get ready once that call is made. So we are doing everything we can now to prepare our home for its newest addition.

When we first started the nursery there wasn’t really ‘a plan’ so to speak. I knew I wanted to leave the pretty blue color on the walls and that we would use the dresser Mike refinished but after that I was sort of at a loss. Now don’t get me wrong, I had stored away inspiration over the last several years but I was struggling to be fully engaged in and excited about the planning process. It sort of feels a little weird to be preparing a room for somebody you know nothing about, but I started gathering some more ideas – what type of crib, what kind of crib mattress, how should we store things, etc.

We ultimately picked up a crib from pottery barn during a sale (that now seems to be never-ending!) and ended up finding a crib mattress on amazon. I planned a trip to Ikea to pick up some other fun stuff on our way home from Chicago one weekend, too.

I probably spent the most time looking at different bedding. I wanted something gender neutral that went well with the wall color and the ‘feel’ I was going for (that feel that I couldn’t really describe in any way, hah!). I looked at Target, Pottery Barn, Land of Nod, Restoration Hardware, Etsy, Walmart, you name it – nothing was tugging at my heart strings. While I was looking at image upon image of ideas, I came across this saying and from that moment I knew what I was looking for.

roots wings

Roots so the child knows where they come from, a nourishing start, and a firm foundation to grow.

Wings to reach their potential and soar new heights.

It seemed to mimic my view on adoption – the biological family is that foundation, a place to start. With an open adoption the ability to continue to develop that relationship will only strengthen their sense of self and build that foundation up. The adoptive family is to give that child the world – or as much of it as they can – by providing what they need to reach their full potential. How fitting, right?

So with that decided, the hunt was on for anything birds, trees, nature-y!

I had previously (meaning way back when adoption was not on the radar) purchased some art that I thought would be perfect in our future kiddo’s room. Guess what, it had birds in it! And one of my favorite Ikea finds were these adorable pictures and pillow (it seems they are no longer for sale at ikea)! Now I was starting to have fun.

After that I spent a lot of time on Etsy finding options for my “vision”:

My amazing mom surprised me by offering to buy just about everything on my wish list. Each item has been slowly finding its way to me and every time I get to open another package, I get a little more excited about finishing this room for our someday child!

Here’s how it’s looking at this moment.

 

Obviously, there’s still a lot left to do –  most importantly we need to hang some art! I think that will really start to pull things together. I also want to find some shelves or baskets for books and other bins/baskets to organize everything.

Other must haves – closet doors and room darkening curtains or shades (anything to encourage sleep, right?!) Oh and we’ll need to find a new home for the other stuff that’s found a “home” in there over the years – I’m talking to you Riley’s old bed and Mike’s files! I’ll be back with another post sharing some plans to get these other items crossed off our to do list!

How’d you tackle the nursery in your home? Any must haves you think I’m missing? Do you all have any tips for best nursery organization? Best part of being the last person I know to add a baby to their family – getting advice from the experts! 🙂

4 Responses to “A Work in Progress”

  1. Carol April 17, 2016 at 11:58 am #

    i love the roots and wings theme! It’s looking ready just like you. You’ll be fantastic parents. We are excited for you!

    • Jess April 21, 2016 at 8:01 am #

      Thanks carol!

  2. My Perfect Breakdown April 27, 2016 at 1:08 pm #

    Good for you for doing this now! We took the opposite approach and basically closed the nursery door for 4 years. It became a black hole in our house that symbolized the black hole in our hearts. Eventually our adoption agency told us we needed a photo of the nursery so we were forced to start. I was miserable and bitter at the time, but it was like we were forced to rip of the bandaid and turned out to be a good thing. It got us going and slowly we started buying stuff and putting the room together.
    When we got “the call” it was nice to be mostly done. And then when we got home with our son I was so thankful I didn’t have to spend time putting together the nursery.
    And with an added twist of irony the nursery photo was one of the main reasons our birth mother chose us!
    Also, it’s a beautiful room!! Great work!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Year, New List | Baby Steps - February 20, 2017

    […] to put the finishing touches on this room. As a reminder, here’s what it looked like when you last saw it. It already looks quite a bit different now […]

Leave a Reply

