National Infertility Awareness Week

27 Apr

After sharing our plans to adopt an infant in November, I opened up a little bit about our journey to grow our family. National Infertility Awareness Week started April 24, so I thought I’d share a bit more about our struggles with infertility.

Did you know that 1 in 8-10 couples have trouble conceiving or maintaining a pregnancy? Well, they do! I used to joke that we were everyone’s 1 in 8 because it seemed that no one else I knew had any trouble popping out babies! Or at least it felt that way.

Image result for infertility memes

Infertility is something that a lot of people don’t talk about. It’s an awkward conversation and a very isolating experience. But, when we made the decision to share our adoption plans, I threw caution to the wind and decided I was going to also share our struggles with infertility, too. I don’t do this for pity. In fact, one of the reasons most people don’t talk about their struggles with infertility is to avoid the sad stares and the not so helpful comments and advice (i.e., Relax and it will happen or maybe it’s just not meant to be, etc). Because a lot of people don’t talk about or share their struggles with infertility, it leaves everyone else in the dark on what it really means to “struggle with infertility.” This is one of the reasons why I’m opening up.

I also want to do this for the people out there who may read this and feel absolutely alone. While we were knee deep in things like OPK’s, BBT’s, IUI’s, IVF’s, and injection after injection, I was so grateful for the blogs and forums out there that helped me feel a little more normal. It certainly helped make the journey not seem so scary. It was also a really helpful way to learn about the process – you can only get so much from textbooks or scientific articles. I learned a ton from the women who were willing to open themselves up. I was connected to women who had been through so much heartache. There is a whole community of amazing women out there I never would’ve met otherwise!

The theme for this year’s NIAW is #startasking. If you’re in the midst of your own battle with infertility, I encourage you to start asking for help and support. Ask your doctors, your friends, your family, or me. Find someone you can confide in so you don’t have to struggle alone.

And I will ask all of you to:

 

 

 

One Response to “National Infertility Awareness Week”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How’d We End Up Here: Part II (AKA The Very Long Version) | Baby Steps - May 9, 2016

    […] I mentioned earlier this week a couple of weeks ago now, it’s NIAW. So in honor of that I’m going to share the very long version of our struggles(and I […]

Leave a Reply

