NIAW 2017

24 Apr

Yesterday was the start to National Infertility Awareness Week. You heard all about our struggles with infertility last year – both the long and short version to the story. Most of you know that despite trying just about everything western medicine has to offer AND dabbling in traditional Chinese medicine, we still failed to do what our bodies are made for – make and birth a baby.

It’s astonishing to me that 1 in 8 couples battle infertility. It is still a medical condition that doesn’t get the attention it deserves and it is still a topic that people shy away from talking about. I used to be one of those people that danced around the answer to the question “so, when are you going to have kids?” … BUT, as you all know, I’m pretty open about it now! Opening up about everything was pretty scary, but I am so glad I did. In fact, I wish I would have opened up sooner. In the midst of it all, infertility is really all consuming – mentally, physically, emotionally, financially. In fact, there is research to suggest that a diagnosis is as stressful as a diagnosis of cancer! Why wouldn’t we want the support of our friends and family?!

Many people might wonder how I feel now that Wes is here. Wes is amazing, he is the happiest, most wonderful part of my day, but he does not erase all that I went through to get to where I am. He wows me every day, he fills my heart with so much joy, he is perfect and I am incredibly lucky to be his mama. I, however, am still infertile. I still wonder about my baby that would be 2+ years old. What would my life be like? I know I wouldn’t have Wes if I had that baby, and that is really hard to think about. I can’t imagine my life without him in it. Unfortunately, adoption does not make everything disappear. Adoption is not a cure for infertility. But adoption DID make me a mama. One lucky mama at that. And, I would not be the mom I am today without everything that happened before he became a part of my life.

This year’s NIAW theme is Listen Up! 1 in 8 of us has a story to share, and they will all be a little different. There’s something to be learned in each of them. What I’d like you to hear is that adoption does not make it all go away. Adoption has filled an enormous hole in my heart, there is no denying that. But I’ve always envisioned more than 1 child in my family, so I’m still left wondering a bunch of what ifs, how’s, and when’s.

Leave a Reply

